Florida Drug Laws
In Florida, getting charged with buying, selling, intent to sell, or possession of drugs can land you in hot water. Possession alone can have you facing a third-degree felony, which means you could serve up to five years in jail in addition to having to pay a fine of up to $5,000.
Believe it or not, this is one of the lighter consequence for being charged with a drug crime in Florida. The exception to this rule is when the person being charged had no more than twenty grams of marijuana in his or her possession. If that's the case, the person could face a first-degree misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of $1,000.
Care, Custody, Control, and Management
In order to be proven guilty of possession, the prosecuting attorney has to prove that the drug was in your care, custody, control, and management.
- Care - Did you know that the drug was in your possession?
- Custody - Did the drug actually belong to you?
- Control - Did you have the power to do what you wanted with the drug?
- Management - Did you intend to sell the drug?
With the right attorney by your side, proving these things may be more difficult than your prosecutor cares to admit. Allow me to be that attorney and put my skills to use for you.